Wednesday 2 October 2019

Book Review: Heavenfield by L.J. Ross

Last Updated: 20 September 2021

Heavenfield by L.J. Ross book cover

When a man is found dead at the remote church of Heavenfield, DCI Ryan is the only other person for miles around. The police have no weapon, no motive and no other suspects.

Already suspended from Northumbria CID, Ryan must fight to clear his name. But soon, more than his career is at stake when prominent members of the mysterious ‘Circle’ begin to die. Somebody wants Ryan’s name to be next on the coroner’s list and to survive he must unmask the devil who walks among them – before it is too late.

Unfortunately for Ryan, the devil looks just like everybody else…

Heavenfield is the third book in the DCI Ryan Mysteries series - don't forget to check out my reviews of the first and second books in the series!

Dark and atmospheric, Heavenfield jumps straight into the story. It effortlessly combines all the excitement of a new case with continued intrigue and suspense following on with the overarching plot which spans the first few books of the series.

DCI Ryan and his team are back on form, putting all their detective skills to the test - not to mention their emotions, too. The story builds on the high levels of suspense that have been developed throughout the first two books of the series in order to bring the initial plot arc to a fast-paced conclusion.

The pace is fast, the writing tense, and the stakes have never been higher for Northumbria CID. It's another quick read, but one that I found almost impossible to put down! I am super excited to read the next book in the series as I am hooked on the DCI Ryan Mysteries

Rating: 4 stars

Heavenfield is available to buy now.

If you like the sound of this book, you might also enjoy...

Have you read any of the DCI Ryan Mysteries? Let me know in the comments below!

No comments:

Post a Comment